To commute or not to commute?

A day in the life of a commuting student…

So, what’s it like?

Forget late nights, slow-paced breakfasts and having time to match your socks in the morning. Everything is a bit more manic when you commute! You’re up so early that you’re the one to wake the cockerels up and before you even have time to rub the sleep out of your eyes, you’re on the tram wondering what just happened.

Why commute?

People ask me this all time.  For me, the answer is simple: Manchester is where my heart is but I love studying in Sheffield. Manchester is exciting but Sheffield has a compact, lively student vibe, which I love.

The down-side to commuting:

Missing out on nights out because you’re in a different city. It can be quite sad to hear all your mates are off to Corp and you happen to be over 50 miles away… Send me a postcard, guys!

The inevitability that some days, no matter how hard you try, you will be late. And, sometimes getting a seat on the train is akin to winning the lottery; statistically a 1 in 13,983,816 chance. Okay, that’s a tad hyperbolic but you get the idea.

Having to watch most of my fave T.V shows on demand. *Must stay away from all social networks to avoid spoilers*

However, it’s not all doom and gloom!

The up-side to commuting:

To quote Ross in Friends… I have been given the gift of time. Commuting has given me so much time to read! Reading is a huge passion of mine but something I never find the time to sit down and enjoy.

The commute also acts as a buffer between home and Uni, allowing me to do any last minute seminar prep and course reading (not that I’m advocating leaving everything to the last minute!)

Financially, commuting works out better for me. The only cost I incur is my travel and I buy tickets in advance so the journey is relatively cheap in comparison to renting in Sheffield.

Commuting gives you the best of both worlds. Double the shops, the restaurants and the night clubs!

What’s not to love?

For those who are considering commuting in the future, here are my top tips:

  • Do your research. Would commuting be cheaper? How long will it take?
  • Organisation is crucial, from knowing your train ticket references in advance to ensuring that every little bit of your journey is planned.
  • Bring a packed lunch. There is a constant temptation to buy junk food and snack throughout your journey. Did someone say Greggs?
  • Wrap up warm because winter is a commute killer! Recommended essentials include scarf, warm coat and gloves.

Leave a Reply

