Model UN: My history and why I like it

How I got to MUN:

In my secondary school I was an active debater in my high school’s club. I enjoyed learning more and building arguments, but I also had a taste for the competitive side of it. It came a time when I had to take a break, which unfortunately for me it meant never actually getting back to debate. It is sad, a part of me feels that, but I found something I love just as much, and that made me feel all the better. I found MUN and I never looked back.

What is MUN :

MUN mimics a UN conference, in which you represent a country and try to advance and represent your country’s interests. It can be really fun and relaxed or really tense. It depends on how you look at it. It is definitely serious, in the sense that you feel the burdens on your actions and how you can get called on by other countries for your foreign policy. At the same time, you feel a great sense of pride when the papers you work on get noticed and they pass as resolutions. It is a good way to develop skills and improve your public speaking, which is why so many choose to do it. To be fair, you also get a fancy Delegates Dinner at the end of most MUN conferences and that has a certain appeal.

Where you can try it and why should you?

Our UNA Society is having a Give It A Go event on 9 February in Octagon Centre from 6 p.m, if you want to feel how it is like to be a UN Delegate, it is a good opportunity to come at the session and have a taste of MUN.

Regarding why you should do it: I think the best reason would be to get a real sense of how decisions in UN are taken how debates inside UN flow and if there is anything problematic with they way it does. Most importantly, you get to see in action what being a “big country” means and how you can play that card.

Me and MUN :

Now, why I like it. Because it feels real, in the way that after series of debate and speech after speech, you get attached to your country, you want the best for it. And probably because it is real in the feelings of frustration and misery one feels, when sensible policies do not get through, when decisions are ignored because your political capital is too low. You feel it and you leave each conference with a bittersweet taste, you loved it but you also acknowledge the long and tedious decision-making process.

Leave a Reply

