So long, farewell…

So on May 27th I officially finished my degree in English Language and Linguistics and yes it has indeed flown by! Do I know what I’ll be doing in 3 months?  Absolutely not!  But I’m not going to let that phase me because I definitely need a break.  Some “me” time is needed and there’s nothing wrong with that.  There’s a lot of us out there about to graduate this summer and some of us don’t know what’s around the corner.  I know not being at uni anymore will hit me soon, especially when September comes around and I’m not packing my parents’ car full to the brim to head back to Sheffield.  That’s when it will feel very real.  Of course graduation is proof enough that I’m not going back but uni has been my life for the last 3 years, there’s no denying that it’s going to feel weird.

I made it!

I made it!

As this is my last blog of the academic year I’m feeling quite reflective.

In my 2nd year I had the opportunity to go to Berlin with the English Society which was pretty awesome!  However, what felt like 100 hours on a coach was not so glamorous! Don’t pass up your society trips though; you’ll make some awesome memories.  This year we went to Amsterdam, it was only a short weekend but I suppose that just means I need to go back!

22405_10206295808613482_7983455008997143352_n

12144691_10208566463389002_6218692627521676486_n (1)

I’ve been to Pop Tarts more times than I can count but without a doubt I have had some hilarious nights there. I thought I’d had my last time there but it turns out I’m going in Grad Week as well! Anyone that knows me will know my favourite place to be on Friday night is the ground floor of Corp!  I love it because some nights it’s like going to a gig.  My housemate broke his finger in a mosh pit there (so rock ‘n’ roll)!  I’m looking forward to heading there for early 21st celebrations soon.

In my time at uni I’ve met some amazing people and admittedly some not so amazing people.  University has been like watching a TV series, some episodes you really love but other ones just aren’t that great (I’m talking about you Buffy the Vampire Slayer)!

The obstacles along the way always seemed so huge, whether it was an exam, writer’s block or having to choose a course module that you didn’t like (never enjoyed that).  But one way or another I got through it and the hard work will pay off I hope!  Having experienced a loss in my family in my first year of uni, the journey ahead seemed pretty impossible but here I am, I’ve finished my 3-year degree and I’m writing my last blog as a student ambassador.

The graduation robes have been ordered and I’m pretty excited to hold my degree in my hand and feel proud.

Steel City you’ve been amazing, thank you. Woooo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

