Looking back on university life

Having sat for my final exam of my university degree, I thought to myself, ‘This is it. I’ve done all I could do. It’s the end of the undergraduate chapter of my life. This… is it.’ As excited as I am to move on to graduate life, I can’t help but to think I will miss all of the things I’ve done in university. I’ve met some amazing people, all very different and I’ve done things I’m proud of, looking back.

I went to night clubs for the first time, cooked meals on my own for the first time (my mother was too overprotective to let me cook when I was back home), baked cakes, cookies, muffins, and bread, sewed a complex star pillow by hand and a skirt using a sewing machine gifted to me (with no prior experience of sewing), performed on stage for audiences of hundreds, and tried out different sports, ending up taking part in national sporting events, even coming back with medals. Only after writing it out does it dawn on me that it sounds impressive but at the time, all I thought about was that it was fun and a great opportunity to do what I hadn’t done before. I had so much time to explore my interests and the university, societies and clubs gave me the opportunity to do so with others (and alone when I preferred to as well, of course). If I were asked if I had any regrets, I might say not attending a language course. I consider myself a person with a lot of interests but at the same time, lazy and like a lot of time essentially not doing anything productive. So whilst I’ve always wanted to pick up another language, I’m not too sure if I would have liked to have to dedicate time out of my schedule to it. I remember back in second year when I tried to take on too many activities which left me absolutely exhausted and grumpy because I didn’t have enough time to myself. The lesson here: Pace yourself and know yourself.

When talking about university life, of course you can’t leave out the academic side of it! I’ll admit I could have done better academically if I put more time into it, but work-life balance is really important to me and frankly I just wanted to be happy and get grades I’d be sufficiently happy with. I remember the many all-nighters I pulled and head-scratching I did trying to figure out some coursework. All in all, I have no regrets. By the way, you’d be surprised with how much coursework increases the bond between you and your fellow coursework buddy.

P.S. I almost forgot, I got my first taste of work whilst studying at university too! Important milestone for myself. I was ambassador for my academic department, ambassador for the SU and was an Orientation (week) Assistant. There are lots of opportunities out there (some pretty well paid), so go out and grab them!

Leave a Reply

