Sheffield weather

Today, I am yet again reminded that Sheffield’s weather, in the end, is still completely unpredictable. Expect the unexpected when it comes to weather: That’s what I would tell my past self if I could to prepare me for Sheffield. You know, that, and Sheffield’s hills – but that’s a whole other story.

So, Sheffield’s weather. Don’t get me wrong, it is absolutely gorgeous when it’s nice out, and even when it’s overcast the city still has a charm about it. But what I dislike really, is that one moment it’s nice, bright and warm, and the next it’s very cloudy, dark and cold (by my standards). The weather drastically changes at the snap of your fingers. I don’t have a very high tolerance for cold; far from it, really. And of course no one likes to be wrapped up in layers of cold weather clothing whilst the sun is shining and is actually feeling relatively warm. But such was the story of my life in first year when I made the trek from Endcliffe Village into the engineering department, all the way on the other side of campus. The route which takes my fellow coursemates about 20 minutes to complete, takes me about 40 minutes instead (which I attribute to the combination of my short legs and thus, small steps, and just slow movement speed overall). I don’t know about you, but staying uncomfortably warm and sweaty or being in the almost shivering cold for about a half hour walk to and back from class is quite a long time. Of course, this didn’t just apply to my walks into the university, it’s equally applicable for days out in the city and so forth.

I have essentially decided that the best way to tackle this weather issue is to wear a thin layer on the inside, and a thicker layer on the outside. That way, I can easily adjust the number of layers I have on depending on the fickle weather. Bringing an umbrella or waterproof layer is usually a good shout as well, especially during the wetter season. However, again due to the unpredictability of it all, sometimes I got caught off guard and get soaked in the rain. However, there was a certain point where it happened so often that I didn’t really care anymore, and simply walked in the rain. It seemed like I wasn’t the odd one out though, because I recall seeing others do the exact same thing. As they say, misery loves company. I must admit, it made me feel better when I see others not care very much that they were getting soaked, like myself. It can be an enjoyable experience, but only if you let it be. That sound’s weirdly philosophical, but I think it’s true. That doesn’t mean it’s easy, and you won’t always find it nice, but you can.

Some people say it’s possible to experience almost all weather combinations in a day in Sheffield, and I’m inclined to agree. Maybe it’s because I come from a country where the weather is always the same all year round, but when I first found out and experienced it myself, I thought it amusing and somewhat endearing; I thought it was cute. As the time for me to leave draws closer, I begin to think that I might miss the weather up here, as crazy as it is. Some people may disagree, but it kind of grows on you. I think it’s one of those things people love complaining about, but at the end of the day you might miss it if it’s gone.

Leave a Reply

