Getting the most out of first year

Now I’m back in Sheffield and nearing the end of exams, I’m turning my thoughts to getting the most out of the rest of first year. As I was here last year but withdrew at this point, I want to make sure I leave university with no regrets of missed opportunities.

In the first semester I got involved with as much as possible. I signed up for this blog as well as another university blog and a football blog. I joined 3 football teams, rejoined the charity Marrow and the Latin American society. I explored some more of Sheffield and I have even made it to exams this time round!

I’ve made a plan of what I hope to achieve before summer, I think it’s a good way to challenge yourself and make sure you don’t miss out on what’s on offer. Essentially it’s a mid first year bucket list:

  1. Go to various Varsity events
  2. Explore the Peak District more
  3. Document my time in Sheffield through making videos and photography
  4. Join another society
  5. Do more activities relating to my course
  6. Learn a new language

It’s nothing spectacular and anyone can try these things or create a more personal list. Why not give it a go and see what you can achieve in the next 5/6 months before the summer break.

One thought on “Getting the most out of first year

Leave a Reply

