Goodbye Sheffield – but hopefully not forever!

A running theme in the majority of the blog posts I have written has been how much I absolutely love Sheffield.

Moving from Belfast to Sheffield with little knowledge of the city was terrifying, and yet not once in three years have I ever regretted my decision. As soon as I arrived off the tram at the uni in April 2014 at my open day, I knew immediately that I wanted to go here. That feeling only became more intense, and more certain as I found out more about my course, saw Endcliffe Village, and toured other parts of the uni. I can remember everything about that day so vividly.

I can also remember every single thing about my first day and night in Endcliffe Village. From arriving at the train station and going up to Endcliffe – and finally seeing my mentor Megan, for the first time – and everything I did that day. I can remember meeting my flatmates for the very first time, not knowing that two of them were certain to become some of my best friends, and people that I hope are in my life forever. Seeing as this was probably one of the happiest weekends of my life, I’m so glad that I can remember it in so much detail.

My first year in Endcliffe was definitely my favourite year. It was the most independence I had ever had, and even though so much of first year was going out 4 or 5 nights a week, living off pizza and pasta and filling so many student stereotypes, it was the year that I grew up a lot, started to really come into myself as my own person, and learned how I wanted to be and how I wanted to live. I made some of my best friends that year, and loved every single second of it.

That’s not to say my second and third years weren’t also amazing. They were tougher in terms of academic work, part time jobs, and even discovering that some friendships wouldn’t last all of uni, never mind forever. But they were also so perfect, in that my degree became more challenging and I loved the modules available. I joined a society committee that allowed me to meet some of the funniest, best people I have ever met. I grew into myself a little more, and of course, fell further in love with Sheffield.

In the past three years, I have loved every moment – even the bad days. I have been able to have amazing experiences that I don’t believe any other university would have been able to give me. I’ve made some of my best friends, I’ve loved every single day of my course and every day, I get to walk past some of the most beautiful parks to get to uni. I live so close to the most gorgeous scenery in the Peaks, and many a happy day has been spent walking around Bakewell, or Chatsworth House. I have never been happier that while at university here in Sheffield.

Leaving is going to be one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, but if anything is going to be able to comfort me, it will be the happy, wonderful memories of the past three years. I’m lucky enough to have appreciated every day I have been here, and to soak up every experience, even the small ones. I’ve discovered and explored a beautiful city, that is going to always be a part of me. Even though I won’t be returning in September (something I haven’t quite gotten my head round yet), I will always think of my time here at uni as the best years of my life.

Leave a Reply

