Lessons from university and departure thoughts

It is the end of 3 years for me. My course is coming to an end with a graduation ceremony in mid-July, provided that it all goes according to plan. Considering the time, I have decided to write about the things I learnt at university and what I will take with me once I depart from Sheffield. This is based purely on my experience and it is the result of all the activities I have carried out and the things I have done while being a student at the University of Sheffield.

Lesson 1: Do not let failure hold you down

Things do not tend to go according to plan. It did not work for me, I was not as good as I wanted to be, nor, I think, will I ever be. You may not be as good as you want, as bold as you want, as successful as you think you should be, but you have to pull through. Focusing on loss and on what you do not gain takes away energy to deal with the present. I learnt that failure is part of the process of learning and it can only take you down if you let it.

Lesson 2: “Fake it till you make it”

It sounds cliche, it is cliche, but it is also really true. You never know how things go unless you try them. You may not be confident, but if you can fake confidence, there are high chances it will appear. I am a perfectionist, nothing is good enough and I am never enough in my eyes, but I do not need to show that to the world. This mostly applies to job interviews where you have to make yourself shine, while the voice in your head keeps on ranting about how things could have been better. Confidence takes you a long way, it is just that it takes equally long to build it.

Lesson 3: It is OK not to know what you will do once you graduate

In most cases you have lived only a quarter of your life by the time you graduate, it is perfectly acceptable not have any idea where you will be in 5, 10 or 20 years. It is also OK not to know what you will do next summer. An important lesson I learnt, but I struggle with, is how important is give yourself a break and be more kind to yourself. Sometime you need a break, there is nothing wrong with it.

And the last thing I discovered is that university is one of the best times ever. You learn, you grow, you change and you discover yourself. It is true that for some once you graduate you feel like you have lost yourself again and embrace on new soul searching journey, but that it is just part of the process.

Leave a Reply

